Friday, May 26, 2017

Eight Indianapolis racing engines 
 four winnersfour non-winners
UPDATED 5-27-17

While visiting the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame and Museum, the author photographed eight racing engines on display. Four were winning designs while the other four designs never won the '500.' 

Four successful 4-cylinder inline Miller designs

 183-cubic inch Miller Marine

220-cubic inch Miller

 Supercharged 91-cubic inch Miller

Turbocharged 161-cubic inch Drake Offenhauser

Four less-than successful V-style engine designs 

1989-1991 Alfa-Romeo Indy V-8 
never scored a pole position, race win, or even a podium finish

1987 to 1990 Porsche Indy V-8 one pole position 
and a best finish of second at Michigan International Speedway 

1984- 1994 Buick stock block turbocharged V-6 
Won the 1985 Indy 500 pole position but was always dogged with reliability issues

In 1995 and 1996 the Buick engine was known as the Menard V-6
an example is on display at the Dallara showroom

1987-1992 Judd V-8 developed for Honda, it was reliable but lacked power
One race win at Pocono in 1988

No comments:

Post a Comment